Seattle through Instagram

 


Seattle 5

My husband and I took advantage of the long weekend to visit some friends and family in Seattle.

I had never visited the Emerald City before this weekend, but with a coffeehouse on every corner (or in some cases, two) I knew we’d get along just fine.

Few things make me happier than the chance to visit new places. I love getting to see cities in their proper context; not just what I see in photos or what I hear from people. I feel like I understand the world a little better when I visit somewhere new.

When you get to taste the fresh seafood, eat local berries and experience their nearly obsessive-ness with staying local (Portage Bay, please move you and your breakfast bar to LA), there’s so much to love.

I’m happy to be back in the sunshine of Southern California, but we had a great time. It was a super easy-going, relaxing trip, which I really needed.

Trips like this always remind me of the physical and spiritual value of rest, and how restorative the earth’s beauty and good friends and family can be.

Here’s just a couple of pictures from our trip:

Seattle 3

 

Seattle 4Seattle 1Seattle 2

 

(From top to bottom: Fruit at Pike Place Market, Bryan and me on the ferry to Bainbridge Island, a cute farmer’s market sign on Bainbridge Island, a view of Green Lake, flowers in Pike Place Market)

 

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

