God and Hippie Food

Image via Wikimedia Commons

Image via Wikimedia Commons

With the Boston events still fresh on my mind and on my broken heart, I am always in awe of people whose best moments happen in the worst times.

I hope that someone says that about me one day. Not that I want to be in the middle of a horrible situation where thousands of lives are damaged forever, but because I want to be someone who puts others before myself in those moments no one expects.

If I’m honest with myself, the fear lurking around my mind is that I won’t step up in the big moment; that I’ll end up looking like Jonah.

You know, the guy in the Bible who hides on a boat in his biggest moment, thinking he can run (well, sail) the opposite direction from God and His will.

Spoiler alert: you can’t.

God asks him to do something new, something somewhat crazy: make the people of Nineveh repent.

Jonah flat out doesn’t want to do it and kind of reminds of a seventh grade girl with how he whines about this mission. One thing to his credit, however: he isn’t afraid to claim his faith.

“I am a Hebrew and I worship the Lord, the God of heaven, who made the sea and the land.” (Jonah 1:9)

Not hard to draw the parallel to today, right? As Christians, we are happy to claim that we are Christians. But when God calls us to something new, something maybe a little crazy, we aren’t eager to learn new tricks (I might add here: especially when we didn’t think of it first) or see something in a new light. We might even whine like a seventh grade girl.

When I talk with people about eating more natural ingredients and cutting back on meat, I inevitably get at least one joke about “hippie food.”

Call it what you want, but if hippie food means eating as many natural foods as possible that have been grown/bred in the way they were designed, that is the way God intended us to use these resources. The way He intended us to eat.

And God didn’t talk much about us eating meat in Genesis 1.

“Then God said, ‘I give you every seed-bearing plant on the face of the whole earth and every tree that has fruit with seed in it. They will be yours for food.’” (verse 29)

I wish it said, “I give you every type of bacon on the face of the earth and every steak that has sauce on it. They will be yours for food.” But alas, it does not.

Let’s face it: God made hippie food.

As a country, we’ve (finally) reached a point where we’re seeing the damage we’ve done to our bodies and the environment by our food choices and by taking what Big Agriculture gives us. We’re trying to find new ways to get back to the old ways.

While the national conversation on food continues to evolve in positive ways, there are forces trying to hinder that, of course.

As Christians, let’s not look at this the way we always have. Let’s be part of leading the way for change in the food industry in this country. The world needs us in this conversation. God’s creation needs us.

Maybe this is our moment to try something new. Something a little crazy. Don’t hide in a boat sailing the opposite direction.

Tagged: , , , ,

2 thoughts on “God and Hippie Food

  1. Monika April 18, 2013 at 11:06 pm Reply

    I do think people need to eat more whole, natural foods, and a whole lot less conventionally grown meat, but God did give specific permission to eat meat when he did his little restart thing with Noah–
    Genesis 9:1-3
    “1 Then God blessed Noah and his sons, saying to them, “Be fruitful and increase in number and fill the earth. 2 The fear and dread of you will fall on all the beasts of the earth, and on all the birds in the sky, on every creature that moves along the ground, and on all the fish in the sea; they are given into your hands. 3 Everything that lives and moves about will be food for you. Just as I gave you the green plants, I now give you everything.”

    • Mandy being Mandy April 19, 2013 at 5:58 am Reply

      I totally agree with you Monika. I don’t think eating meat is bad (or against what God commanded), I think how much meat we eat is bad. He absolutely gave us every kind of meat to eat, and I think we need eat it in an amount that isn’t damaging to God’s creation. Thanks so much for reading and commenting Monika!

Leave a Reply

