In the beginning…

Genesis 1

The words hit me about six months ago and I have struggled with them ever since.

“Rule over the fish in the sea and the birds in the sky and over every living creature that moves on the ground. Then God said, ‘I give you every seed-bearing plant on the face of the whole earth and every tree that has fruit with seed in it. They will be yours for food.'” (Genesis 1:28-29)

As someone who was practically born on a church pew, I have read that verse about as many times as I’ve asked for a scoop of mint-n-chip ice cream in my life (read: a large number).

But the words struck me differently on that particular day. God gave us the earth to rule. Even though I can’t read God’s mind, I’m pretty sure He meant “rule” as in “take care of,” not “damage irreparably.”

Yikes.

Obviously a laundry list of problems exists in this world, but I felt these verses staring me in the face.  And this blog, which launches today, is my way of exploring what God has to say about food, and how we can realign our relationship with food, the earth and God.

I feel like I had zero relationship with food until right after college, when food and cooking developed into one a passion of mine; but I realized recently I still don’t know anything about how it gets to my table. Or really, how it even gets to the grocery store.

Until about three years ago, I didn’t even understand that we should only eat food when it’s in season.  That fresh tomatoes should be reserved for summer. That if I buy apples in January, they probably aren’t good and most likely come from hundreds of miles away.

This passion to learn more about food and my recent revelation at Bible study led me to start this blog.

Food is a matter of faith. And I want to explore what that means. I hope that if you are a person of faith or just interested in food and want to explore this subject deeper, that you’ll join with me on this journey.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

